Dernière mise à jour : 24-11-2017

5 sujets INAC/PHELIQS

• Solid state physics, surfaces and interfaces

• Theoretical Physics

 

Advanced AlGaN-based 1D nanostructure growth for UV emission

SL-DRF-18-0392

Research field : Solid state physics, surfaces and interfaces
Location :

Photonique, Electronique et Ingénierie Quantiques (PHELIQS)

Laboratoire de Nano Physique des Semi-Conducteurs (NPSC)

Grenoble

Contact :

Christophe DURAND

Joël EYMERY

Starting date : 01-10-2018

Contact :

Christophe DURAND

UGA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/NPSC

04 38 78 19 77

Thesis supervisor :

Joël EYMERY

CEA - DRF/INAC/MEM/NRS

04 38 78 30 15

The growth of GaN nanowires surrounded by GaN/InGaN quantum wells grown by MOVPE (Metal-Organic Vapor Phase Epitaxy) has been studied extensively in the laboratory and is now well mastered [1]. This is an important step forward as it makes possible the manufacturing and industrial production of nanowire-based LEDs for the emission of visible light (blue, green and white).

In the same way, we wish to develop new 1D nanostructures for the emission of UV light. Pioneering and promising results have been obtained in the laboratory using GaN/InAlN quantum wells grown around the GaN wires exhibiting emission at 330 nm up to room temperature [2]. By applied a in situ annealing, we have demonstrated the possibility of etching the GaN wires core, while preserving the optical properties of the quantum wells. Thus, we made for the first time quantum well-based tubes with excellent optical properties [3].

The aim of the thesis is to develop new quantum wells, such as GaN/AlGaN or AlGaN/AlN grown on 1D nanostructures (wires, tubes, bands, etc.), in order to be able to reach far UV emission wavelengths (<280 nm) with the possibility destroying bacteria. This is a major challenge for the development of UV LEDs considering new applications such as water treatment or sterilization. The purpose of this study is to better understand the potentiality of 1D nanostructures to emit far UV. This type of quantum well grown on 1D nanostructures also makes possible the realization of IR subband detectors in the THz domain.

The development of several stages will be necessary to carry out this thesis project: (i) the realization of 1D nanostructures in Al(Ga)N by combining growth and selective etching, (ii) epitaxy of AlGaN-based quantum wells grown on these nanostructures, (iii) advanced structural and optical characterization, and (iv) the design of new devices and their favrication. The thesis will be based on a collaborator network (C2N, EPFL, Univ. Tyndall ...) in order to progress effectively.

The work is essentially experimental to explore fundamental phenomena at the nanometer scale while participating in a active research topic on the development of new LED devices for UV emission.



[1] R. Koester et al., Nano Lett. 11, 4839 (2011).

[2] C. Durand et al., ACS Photonics 1, 38 (2014).

[3] C. Durand et al., Nano Lett. 17, 3347 (2017).



Theoretical study of advanced magnetocaloric materials

SL-DRF-18-0177

Research field : Solid state physics, surfaces and interfaces
Location :

Photonique, Electronique et Ingénierie Quantiques (PHELIQS)

Groupe Théorie (GT)

Grenoble

Contact :

MIKE ZHITOMIRSKY

Starting date : 01-10-2018

Contact :

MIKE ZHITOMIRSKY

CEA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.43.30

Thesis supervisor :

MIKE ZHITOMIRSKY

CEA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.43.30

Laboratory link : http://inac.cea.fr/Phocea/Vie_des_labos/Ast/ast_groupe.php?id_groupe=1157

An external magnetic field affects the entropy of a magnetic system and provokes temperature variations which can be used for magnetic refrigeration. Such an alternative cooling technology is increasingly important nowadays for space telescopes, particle physics experiments and quantum computing. The existing adiabatic demagnetization refrigerators utilize paramagnetic salts, which have limited capacity for temperatures above 1 K. Recently, two new families of magnetocaloric materials suitable for applications in the 1-4 K temperature range have been proposed: geometrically frustrated spin systems and dipolar magnets. We plan to study the magnetocaloric properties of such materials using large scale Monte Carlo simulations of realistic spin models appropriate for the known, Gd3Ga5O12 and GdLiF4, as well as for the prospective, Yb2Ti2O7 and Yb3Ga5O12, magnetocaloric materials. The theoretical study will benefit from a collaboration with the on-going experimental work at INAC.

SL-DRF-18-0072

Research field : Solid state physics, surfaces and interfaces
Location :

Photonique, Electronique et Ingénierie Quantiques (PHELIQS)

Laboratoire Silicium Nanoélectronique Photonique et Structures (SINAPS)

Grenoble

Contact :

Emmanuel PICARD

David PEYRADE

Starting date : 01-09-2018

Contact :

Emmanuel PICARD

CEA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/SINAPS

04 38 78 90 97

Thesis supervisor :

David PEYRADE

CNRS - LTM

04 38 78 24 53

Interaction effects on topological properties of multiterminal Josephson junctions

SL-DRF-18-0289

Research field : Theoretical Physics
Location :

Photonique, Electronique et Ingénierie Quantiques (PHELIQS)

Groupe Théorie (GT)

Grenoble

Contact :

Julia MEYER

Manuel HOUZET

Starting date : 01-10-2018

Contact :

Julia MEYER

Université Grenoble Alpes - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.31.46

Thesis supervisor :

Manuel HOUZET

CEA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.90.44

Personal web page : http://inac.cea.fr/Pisp/manuel.houzet/

Laboratory link : http://inac.cea.fr/en/Phocea/Vie_des_labos/Ast/ast_groupe.php?id_groupe=501

There is currently an active search for new phases of matter that admit topologically protected edge states. A promising route to realize them consists in combining conventional materials into appropriate heterostructures. Multiterminal Josephson junctions between conventional superconductors may be considered as topological materials themselves. As an example, 4-terminal junctions can accommodate topologically protected zero-energy bound states, which form so-called Weyl singularities. Their existence may be revealed through a quantized transconductance, like in the quantum Hall effect, but without magnetic field. The aim of the project will be to explore further this recent idea by investigating theoretically the robustness of this prediction in the presence of local Coulomb repulsion within the junction. In particular, the fate of Weyl singularities will be analyzed within an actual quantum-dot model for the junction.

Quantum transport in voltage-biased topological Josephson junctions

SL-DRF-18-0281

Research field : Theoretical Physics
Location :

Photonique, Electronique et Ingénierie Quantiques (PHELIQS)

Groupe Théorie (GT)

Grenoble

Contact :

Manuel HOUZET

Julia MEYER

Starting date : 01-10-2018

Contact :

Manuel HOUZET

CEA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.90.44

Thesis supervisor :

Julia MEYER

Université Grenoble Alpes - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.31.46

Personal web page : http://inac.cea.fr/Pisp/julia.meyer/

Laboratory link : http://inac.cea.fr/en/Phocea/Vie_des_labos/Ast/ast_groupe.php?id_groupe=501

Topological phases of matter have attracted much interest in recent years. Topological superconductors are of particular interest because they may host Majorana bound states [1]. Josephson junctions have been proposed as probes of topological superconductivity, and possible signatures of such Majorana bound states in topological Josephson junctions have indeed been observed [2,3,4]. However, important aspects related to the effect of the environment on the properties of the junction are still not fully understood. The aim of the thesis is to make progress in the understanding of quantum transport in voltage-biased topological Josephson junctions in the presence of an electromagnetic environment.

 

Retour en haut

Dernière mise à jour : 24-11-2017

5 sujets INAC/PHELIQS

• Physique du solide, surfaces et interfaces

• Physique théorique

 

Analyse et contrôle de bactéries par microcavité optique

SL-DRF-18-0072

Domaine de recherche : Physique du solide, surfaces et interfaces
Laboratoire d'accueil :

Photonique, Electronique et Ingénierie Quantiques (PHELIQS)

Laboratoire Silicium Nanoélectronique Photonique et Structures (SINAPS)

Grenoble

Contact :

Emmanuel PICARD

David PEYRADE

Date souhaitée pour le début de la thèse : 01-09-2018

Contact :

Emmanuel PICARD

CEA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/SINAPS

04 38 78 90 97

Directeur de thèse :

David PEYRADE

CNRS - LTM

04 38 78 24 53

La pression de radiation est la force exercée par la lumière lorsqu’elle rencontre ou traverse un objet. Cette force si petite soit-elle peut permettre de déplacer ou manipuler, à la manière d’une mini pince, des objets de dimension micrométrique. Généralement mis en œuvre au travers d’un microscope, on parle alors de pince optique.

Le laboratoire à une longue expérience dans l’étude des microcavités à cristaux photoniques, il y a été démontré que les microcavités optiques dans la filière SOI, permettent de réaliser un confinement extrêmement efficace du champ électromagnétique, tant du point de vue spectral que spatial. La mise en évidence et la quantification les forces optiques (pression de radiation et gradient) générées par ces microcavités a été obtenue par l'observation du mouvement de particules micrométriques placées en solution à proximité des structures. Il a pu ainsi être démontré que ces systèmes optofluidiques permettent le piégeage, l’assemblage, la manipulation et le tri de micro-nano objets en suspension. Nous avons franchi une étape supplémentaire en réussissant à identifier une bactérie piégée sur le piège grâce à sa signature optique.

Dans le cadre de ce sujet de master, nous envisageons de poursuivre ces études en évaluant les potentialités de ces technologies optofluidiques dans le domaine de la biologie cellulaire. Une première étape sera de faire évoluer les composants vers un système intégré permettant de conserver une viabilité cellulaire compatible avec les contraintes des mesures spectroscopiques. L'objectif final de ce stage sera de proposer un système optofluidique silicium permettant d’analyser et/ou contrôler dynamiquement le comportement d’une cellule en fonction d’agent extérieur (antibiotique, chaleur, nourriture). Les travaux seront conduits en collaboration avec les équipes spécialisées dans les technologies du vivant et de la santé.

Croissances avancées de nanostructures verticales 1D en AlGaN pour l’emission UV

SL-DRF-18-0392

Domaine de recherche : Physique du solide, surfaces et interfaces
Laboratoire d'accueil :

Photonique, Electronique et Ingénierie Quantiques (PHELIQS)

Laboratoire de Nano Physique des Semi-Conducteurs (NPSC)

Grenoble

Contact :

Christophe DURAND

Joël EYMERY

Date souhaitée pour le début de la thèse : 01-10-2018

Contact :

Christophe DURAND

UGA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/NPSC

04 38 78 19 77

Directeur de thèse :

Joël EYMERY

CEA - DRF/INAC/MEM/NRS

04 38 78 30 15

La croissance par MOVPE (Metal-Organic Vapor Phase Epitaxy) de nanofils de GaN entourés de puits quantiques GaN/InGaN a été longuement étudiée au laboratoire et est aujourd’hui parfaitement maitrisée [1]. Ceci est une avancée importante car cela rend envisageable la fabrication et la production industrielle de LED à nanofils pour l’émission de lumière dans le visible (couleur bleue, verte et blanche).



Dans le même esprit, nous souhaitons développer de nouvelles nanostructures verticales 1D pour l’émission de lumière dans l’UV. Des résultats pionniers et prometteurs ont été obtenus au laboratoire à l’aide de puits quantiques GaN/InAlN épitaxiés autour des fils de GaN avec une émission à 330 nm jusqu’à la température ambiante [2]. A partir d’un simple recuit in situ, nous avons démontré la possibilité de graver le cœur des fils en GaN tout en préservant les propriétés optiques des puits quantiques. Ainsi, nous avons réalisé pour la première fois des tubes à puits quantiques présentant d’excellentes propriétés optiques [3].

Le but de la thèse est de développer de nouveaux puits quantiques du type GaN/AlGaN ou AlGaN/AlN sur des nanostructures 1D (fils, tubes, bandes), afin de pouvoir atteindre des longueurs d’ondes d’émission dans l’UV lointain (<280 nm) capable de détruire des bactéries. Il s’agit d’un enjeu majeur pour le développement des LED UV, car cela permettrait d’envisager de nouvelles applications telles que le traitement de l’eau ou la stérilisation. Cette étude a pour ambition de mieux connaître la potentialité des nanostructures 1D pour émettre de l’UV lointain. Ce type de nanostructures 1D à puits quantiques permet aussi d’envisager la réalisation de détecteur IR inter-sous-bande dans le domaine du THz.

Le développement de plusieurs étapes seront nécessaires pour mener à bien ce projet de thèse : (i) la réalisation de nanostructures 1D en Al(Ga)N en combinant croissance et gravure sélective, (ii) l’épitaxie de puits quantiques à base d’AlGaN sur ces nanostructures, (iii) la caractérisation poussée structurale et optique et (iv) le design de nouveaux dispositifs et leurs réalisations. La thèse s’appuiera sur un réseau de collaborateurs bien connus (C2N, EPFL, Univ. Tyndall…) pour progresser efficacement.

Le travail est essentiellement expérimental permettant d’explorer des phénomènes fondamentaux à l’échelle nanométriques tout en participant à une thématique de recherche particulièrement active sur le développement des nouveaux dispositifs LED pour l’UV.



[1] R. Koester et al., Nano Lett. 11, 4839 (2011).

[2] C. Durand et al., ACS Photonics 1, 38 (2014).

[3] C. Durand et al., Nano Lett. 17, 3347 (2017).



Étude théorique de matériaux et systèmes magnétocaloriques avancés

SL-DRF-18-0177

Domaine de recherche : Physique du solide, surfaces et interfaces
Laboratoire d'accueil :

Photonique, Electronique et Ingénierie Quantiques (PHELIQS)

Groupe Théorie (GT)

Grenoble

Contact :

MIKE ZHITOMIRSKY

Date souhaitée pour le début de la thèse : 01-10-2018

Contact :

MIKE ZHITOMIRSKY

CEA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.43.30

Directeur de thèse :

MIKE ZHITOMIRSKY

CEA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.43.30

Labo : http://inac.cea.fr/Phocea/Vie_des_labos/Ast/ast_groupe.php?id_groupe=1157

Un champ magnétique externe affecte l'entropie d'un système magnétique et provoque des variations de température qui peuvent être utilisées pour la réfrigération magnétique. Une technologie de refroidissement alternative de ce type est de plus en plus importante aujourd'hui pour les télescopes spatiaux, les expériences en physique des particules et l'informatique quantique. En ce moment, la plupart des réfrigérateurs à désaimantation adiabatique utilisent des sels paramagnétiques qui ont une capacité limitée pour des températures supérieures à 1 K. Récemment, deux nouvelles familles de matériaux magnétocaloriques adaptées aux applications dans la gamme de température 1-4 K ont été proposées : des systèmes de spins à géométrie frustrée et des aimants dipolaires. Nous envisageons d'étudier les propriétés magnétocaloriques de ces matériaux en utilisant des simulations Monte Carlo de modèles de spin appropriés pour les matériaux connus, tels que Gd3Ga5O12 et GdLiF4, ainsi que pour les matériaux magnétocaloriques prospectifs, Yb2Ti2O7 et Yb3Ga5O12. L'étude théorique bénéficiera d'une collaboration avec les études expérimentales en cours à l'INAC.

Effet des interactions sur les propriétés topologiques de jonctions Josephson multiterminales

SL-DRF-18-0289

Domaine de recherche : Physique théorique
Laboratoire d'accueil :

Photonique, Electronique et Ingénierie Quantiques (PHELIQS)

Groupe Théorie (GT)

Grenoble

Contact :

Julia MEYER

Manuel HOUZET

Date souhaitée pour le début de la thèse : 01-10-2018

Contact :

Julia MEYER

Université Grenoble Alpes - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.31.46

Directeur de thèse :

Manuel HOUZET

CEA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.90.44

Page perso : http://inac.cea.fr/Pisp/manuel.houzet/

Labo : http://inac.cea.fr/en/Phocea/Vie_des_labos/Ast/ast_groupe.php?id_groupe=501

Les matériaux topologiques sont des phases de la matière condensée qui admettent des états topologiquement protégés à leurs bords. Une voie prometteuse pour les réaliser consiste à combiner différents matériaux conventionnels pour obtenir des hétérostructures présentant ces propriétés. Une alternative consiste à étudier des jonctions Josephson multiterminales formées entre des supraconducteurs conventionnels. Par exemple, des jonctions à 4 terminaux peuvent admettre des états liés topologiquement protégés à énergie nulle et qui réalisent ce qu’on appelle des singularités de Weyl. Leur existence peut être révélée grâce à une transconductance quantifiée, comme dans l'effet Hall quantique, mais en absence de champ magnétique. Le but du projet sera d'explorer cette idée récente en étudiant d’un point de vue théorique la robustesse de cette prédiction en présence de répulsion Coulombienne à l’intérieur de la jonction. En particulier, la présence de singularités de Weyl sera analysée dans un modèle concret d’îlots quantiques connectés à des supraconducteurs.

Transport quantique dans des jonctions Josephson topologiques polarisées en tension

SL-DRF-18-0281

Domaine de recherche : Physique théorique
Laboratoire d'accueil :

Photonique, Electronique et Ingénierie Quantiques (PHELIQS)

Groupe Théorie (GT)

Grenoble

Contact :

Manuel HOUZET

Julia MEYER

Date souhaitée pour le début de la thèse : 01-10-2018

Contact :

Manuel HOUZET

CEA - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.90.44

Directeur de thèse :

Julia MEYER

Université Grenoble Alpes - DRF/INAC/PHELIQS/GT

04.38.78.31.46

Page perso : http://inac.cea.fr/Pisp/julia.meyer/

Labo : http://inac.cea.fr/en/Phocea/Vie_des_labos/Ast/ast_groupe.php?id_groupe=501

Topological phases of matter have attracted much interest in recent years. Topological superconductors are of particular interest because they may host Majorana bound states [1]. Josephson junctions have been proposed as probes of topological superconductivity, and possible signatures of such Majorana bound states in topological Josephson junctions have indeed been observed [2,3,4]. However, important aspects related to the effect of the environment on the properties of the junction are still not fully understood. The aim of the thesis is to make progress in the understanding of quantum transport in voltage-biased topological Josephson junctions in the presence of an electromagnetic environment.

 

Retour en haut